Ergon Software in Everyday Life


In our everyday lives we constantly come across software – in many cases programs that have been developed by Ergon. On the following pages Jessica is going to make a foray into the world of Ergon’s software.

Go along with Jessica on her software discovery trip!

Getting past the tills quickly

At the Coop till
Jessica still urgently needs to get something for supper. Dashing through the shop, she has quickly put everything in her basket. There’s luckily no-one else at the till, and she has got her shopping done in next to no time.

The personnel planning system has to work perfectly if there are to be no enormous queues at the tills and enough fresh produce on the shelves at all times. To guarantee first-rate service for customers the two biggest retailers Coop and Migros rely on Zebra, Ergon’s time management solution for work scheduling, timekeeping and accounting. The customer in the shop benefits here as Zebra plays a key role in ensuring staff are deployed to optimum effect.

This fast, powerful and user-friendly web application helps store managers with the task of scheduling the working hours of their employees in line with their contracts and the relevant legislation. For example, the consistency check therefore does not allow employees to record a shift that is longer than permitted or for breaks to be left out. In this way the system ensures that the rules governing working hours for all staff are not broken and that any additional payments are calculated correctly. In addition to personnel planning, Zebra also handles access authorisations.

Reference Compass Group (Schweiz) AG (German)
Reference Migros (German)
Reference Coop (German)

Always enough hot water for a shower

A hot shower at the hotel
After her long journey Jessica’s enjoying a hot shower at the hotel. Something we take for granted. But actually no mean feat, providing the right amount of hot water at big hotels 24 hours a day.

How can such a hotel with hundreds of guests manage to have enough hot water for everyone to take a shower at the same time? The answer here is embedded systems: processors that are embedded in a device to control and monitor it. They are all around us, and hardly anything would work without them. Nowadays huge installations are controlled with the tiniest of embedded devices. The number of possible applications and functions is constantly increasing.

From research ...
How software from Ergon became involved in hot showers is a long story and has to do with Belimo, a technology company listed on the stock exchange with an international workforce of some 1000 people. This firm has been engaged in the development, manufacture and distribution of electric drives for air vents and valves for HVAC systems since 1975. With its extensive product range, Belimo is a world leader in this niche market.

In 2006 Belimo asked Ergon to draw up a feasibility study evaluating different embedded devices which could be incorporated in its drives. In the course of their subsequent cooperation Belimo sharedlogic was used to create an embedded platform which provides the functions needed to develop control systems for building services components. The basis here is an embedded Linux system, which is installed in a drive and offers a runtime environment for control programs. It is supplemented with graphical tools for development and start-up as well as a web interface for operation when in service.

... to the start of production
In the autumn of 2010 Belimo sharedlogic for OEM customers was launched as the latest technology for producing intelligent, ground-breaking components for building services applications.

Oventrop, a German manufacturer of valves, controls and systems for the building services industry, has used Belimo sharedlogic to develop a new hot water heating system for high output levels. This involves cascading heat exchanger systems, which are actuated using a shared logic control system. This is how there’s always enough hot water under the shower.

Tickets please!

In the Rhaetian Railway
Jessica is looking forward to her train journey via the Albula pass. It is very handy that the conductor can scan in her ticket from the ENGADINcard, which also has her mountain railway ticket over the Muottas Muragl summit and her bus ticket stored on it

Anyone travelling by train is familiar with them. Here we are talking about the red devices with the large display that are always carried by train conductors. They are fully incorporated in the IT landscape of Swiss Railways (SBB) thanks to the mobile device (Zugpersonalgerät) containing Ergon’s software. It allows them to retrieve any data they need in real time. Direct access to the customer database lets them for example immediately check while on board whether passengers really have forgotten their railway travel card without them having to bother showing their fare card at the ticket desk afterwards. This is a service that is appreciated by anyone who has ever been in this situation. And customers of Rhaetian Railway can even use various contactless chip cards such as the graubündenCARD and die ENGADINcard as a means of payment.

With their mobile device conductors can also sell all available tickets at any time or check the new electronic tickets stored on mobile phones in a matter of seconds. The latest timetables? They are available at the touch of a button. The Zugpersonalgerät is a major factor in making life easier for passengers and railway staff.

Reference SBB (German)

The convenience of securely paying off bills from home

Online Banking at home
Jessica can’t imagine her everyday life without Internet banking. Her bank, Liechtensteinische Landesbank, put the latest online banking system at her disposal. The priorities here are security, availability and ease of use.

Growing numbers of people are meanwhile taking advantage of electronic payment – something that is convenient and saves time. Not to mention the business world. E-banking caters for a need that is also met by the LLB Group. It offers both private customers and professional asset managers the wide-ranging functions needed to fulfil their high demands: from enquiries about their assets through portfolio management and payment transactions to stock market dealing.

New solution for all customers
This traditional financial institution has recently switched over to the Avaloq banking system, introducing at the same time a new online banking system for Bank Linth (Linthbanking) and LLB (LLB iBanking). At LLB some 60 percent of bank payments are made online. Every month thousands of stock exchange orders are also placed online, with the integrated market data feed offering valuable assistance when it comes to decision-making. The E-Post service, which mails customers their own payment receipts electronically, is also proving popular.

Security and convenience
This user-friendly application developed by Ergon is designed for local installation. A multi-level security concept ensure that unauthorised persons are unable to access the system. Access is granted via a digital signature certificate on a USB token, a PIN and a personal password.

Besides its high security standards the application offers another key benefit: It is far more user-friendly than a browser-based solution. Customers particularly benefit when it comes to complex functions. The design of the new solution is easy to understand and offers functions that increase flexibility for online banking.

Reference LLB (German)

State of the art for your car

At the AMAG garage
Whenever Jessica takes her car in for a service, the garage mechanic is most likely to first connect it to his PC and check the condition of the vehicle in every detail.

AMAG asked Ergon to partner it for the maintenance and further development of its garage-based IT infrastructure. This infrastructure encompasses software components in Java and .NET, linking the 83 garages owned by AMAG and the some 500 partner firms to the works systems of the Volkswagen Group in Wolfsburg. Specific issues include warranty handling, software distribution for vehicles, the electronic parts catalogue or operating procedures.

The brief also includes a hardware component called the Bluebox: an industrial PC with a specifically configured Linux system. A Bluebox can be found in every partner garage, separating the secure workshop network from the office network operated on the responsibility of the partner garage.

Bluebox for the latest vehicle software
The Bluebox links the IT systems at the garage with those of AMAG and the Volkswagen Group. Whenever a vehicle is brought in for service or repair, the mechanic can ask VW in Wolfsburg about the car’s previous history using the Bluebox together with the software components described above. He can download data sheets, view the electronic parts catalogue or retrieve instructions for repair.

In addition, warranty claims can be handled directly with the works via the Bluebox infrastructure. Any spare parts required can be ordered online from AMAG’s parts warehouse via Bluebox and are sometimes even delivered on the same day depending on the time the order is placed

Money always available from the cash dispenser

At the cash dispenser
Jessica needs some ready cash: Put card in, get money out. Something we all take for granted nowadays – but there is a lot of technology behind this. Half of Switzerland’s cash dispenser traffic operate via transaction servers from Ergon.

After a visit to the theatre fill up your wallet quickly with the cash needed for a nightcap in your favourite bar – the nearest cash machine is just round the corner. It is even handier that customers of Raiffeisen bank can also ask its cash dispensers about their current balance and most recent transactions. All card-based transactions are authorised via the cash machine transaction server. This includes taking out and paying in money at Raiffeisen’s ATMs as well as withdrawing cash from terminals belonging to other banks.

Millions of transactions
Ergon provided a server of this type for the Raiffeisen Group, Switzerland’s third largest bank, which is now well equipped for the predicted rise in the levels of transactions: Raiffeisen is one of the biggest players in the Swiss payments processing sector. Banking transactions are expected to grow by 50 percent between now and 2014.

To ensure that the millions of transactions can continue to be processed smoothly, Ergon once again teamed up with Comit to adapt their Card-X transaction server used by various banks to meet the requirements of Raiffeisen. They pulled this off in around 12 months, although all 367 of Raiffeisen’s branches in Switzerland were directly involved in this project as well as more than one supplier. The top priorities here were expandability and reliability in terms of system stability and performance.

Cash when on holiday
Whether we are travelling for business or pleasure, the same mechanisms come into play should we need cash on our journey. The ATM transaction server will also check and authorise all transactions at ATMs and cash machines owned by other banks at home or abroad in terms of our current balance and drawing limits.

The solution also supports live maintenance of the transaction server. This means that the software can be updated without system interrupts: an important condition if people round the globe are to be able to withdraw money at all times.

Reference Raiffeisen Group (German)

An essential companion when outdoors

Weather forecast on the slopes
What’s the weather going to be like today on the slopes? Should Jessica pack her warm jacket as well? The iPhone applications iWeather.ch and meteo4me provide reliable answers to such questions and many others.

Not only are iPhone apps really useful – for Ergon they are an exciting field in which to experiment. They let users find out whatever they want 24/7. As a pioneer of mobile solutions, Ergon was involved in the development of iPhone software right from the start and gained experience in creating apps very early on.

iWeather.ch
We are constantly preoccupied by the weather. For Ergon reason enough to develop an app. iWeather.ch is Switzerland’s first iPhone weather app to directly access the data held by MeteoSchweiz. It shows the latest weather reports for 70 meteorological stations throughout the country as well as the current barometric pressure, animated rainfall radar, wind forecasts and an hour-by-hour forecast for the next 6 days. Whether you are a mountaineer or paraglider, iWeather.ch is the place to come if you are after the latest weather. It also tells business people whether they need to take an umbrella with them to their next meeting.

The world’s weather at your fingertips
Sometimes you want to know about the weather in another country. What’s the weather doing at my holiday destination? Are friends in Australia enjoying better weather than us? This is why Ergon teamed up with the weather experts from meteoblue in Basel to develop an iPhone app for the weather all round the world. meteo4me offers highly accurate global weather forecasts for the next six days as well as all key meteorological parameters provided at hourly intervals.

How three bills are turned into one

Triple Play at home
Getting her phone line, Internet access and digital TV from a single provider is highly convenient for Jessica. Instead of having to bother about three bills from three different suppliers, she only has to pay one.

Whether we pick up the phone, surf the Internet at home in the evening or settle down with a thriller on the TV, these are all completely different activities. But they have something in common if we obtain these services from a single supplier.

Known as Triple Play, this package consisting of telephone, Internet and television, is becoming increasingly popular in Switzerland. WWZ, a regional cable network operator, offers its customers this service.

Range constantly increasing in size
When it comes to its extensive range of telecoms services, WWZ relies on Taifun, the software solution developed by Ergon. With Taifun the company can guarantee that all processes – from customer enquiries through provisioning of the required service to invoicing and continuous monitoring of service quality – are not only handled smoothly and efficiently but also with a focus on the customer. This allows the necessary processes to be automated to a major extent.

Reference WWZ (German)

Not giving black ice a chance

Snowplough in the canton of Lucerne
Icy roads, skidding cars – a nightmare for Jessica and many other road users. Avoiding and combatting ice and snow in winter is one of the key tasks of the road clearance department.

Road users in Switzerland are used to getting to their destination safe and sound even when it’s snowing. As soon as the first snowflakes start to fall, the road network is invaded by snowploughs and gritters with their orange warning lights. They set off on their task of clearing the country’s highways and byways in the middle of the night.

To cope better with the challenges of dealing with ice and snow, the roads inspectorate of the canton of Lucerne and FEDRO asked Ergon and Kelag to develop a special software solution tailored to their needs. It helps the staff responsible for keeping Swiss roads clear in winter with their task of ensuring optimum travel conditions on the federal and cantonal highways. The new system allows the road clearance department to undertake preventive measures whenever the relevant data and weather forecasts point towards snow. It is thus quite possible to come across a gritter when the roads are dry although it won’t start snowing until later.

Full information for the overall picture
The latest reliable information about the weather is essential here. This is why staff in the road clearance department can call on a total of 60 climate and weather stations, each equipped with a range of measuring probes and sensors. They constantly supply data for different meteorological parameters such as air and ground temperature, humidity, freezing temperature, precipitation and wind as well as road conditions. Specific weather forecasts are constantly provided by MeteoSchweiz and other meteorological services, so resulting in a host of valuable information.

All functions in a single system
All data are brought together in a clear, standardised user interface. The system combines a range of functions: real-time meteorological data and forecasts, complete manpower planning, contingent and monitoring including integration of communications with service vehicles, reporting and automated quality control.

The solution has really proved its worth this winter. There were fewer accidents on the entire road network as the accurate forecasts ensured black ice just did not have a chance.

Reference inspectorate of the canton of Lucerne and FEDRO (German)

Software von Ergon im Alltag


Im Alltag werden wir stets von Software begleitet – in vielen Fällen handelt es sich um Software, die von Ergon entwickelt wurde. Jessica unternimmt einen Streifzug auf den Spuren der Software von Ergon.

Begleiten Sie Jessica auf ihrer Softwareentdeckungsreise!

Schnell an der Kasse vorbei

Im Coop an der Kasse
Jessica muss noch dringend etwas für das Abendessen besorgen, sie hat Freunde eingeladen. Schnell alles in den Warenkorb gelegt und zügig durch den Laden geeilt. Zum Glück ist gerade eine Kasse frei und der Einkauf ist im Handumdrehen erledigt.

Damit sich an den Kassen keine überlangen Schlangen bilden und es in den Regalen immer genügend frische Produkte hat, muss die Personaleinsatzplanung reibungslos funktionieren. Um den Kunden stets einen erstklassigen Service zu bieten, vertrauen die beiden grössten Detailhändler Coop und Migros bei der Arbeitszeitplanung, -erfassung und
-abrechnung auf die Ergon-Zeitwirtschaftslösung Zebra. Davon profitiert der Kunde im Laden, weil Zebra einen wichtigen Beitrag leistet, das Personal möglichst optimal einzusetzen.

Die schnelle, leistungsfähige und benutzerfreundliche Webapplikation unterstützt die Filialleiter bei der Aufgabe, die Arbeitszeit der Mitarbeitenden vertrags- und gesetzeskonform zu planen. So lässt es die Konsistenzprüfung beispielsweise nicht zu, dass die Schicht der Mitarbeitenden länger als erlaubt erfasst wird oder dass Pausen ausgelassen werden. Dadurch garantiert das System, dass die Arbeitszeitregeln für alle Mitarbeitenden eingehalten und dass sämtliche Zulagen korrekt abgerechnet werden. Neben der Personaleinsatzplanung regelt Zebra auch die verschiedenen Zutrittsberechtigungen.

Referenz Compass Group (Schweiz) AG
Referenz Migros
Referenz Coop

Immer genügend Heisswasser unter der Dusche

Im Hotel unter der Dusche
Nach der langen Reise geniesst Jessica im Hotel die warme Dusche. Eigentlich eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Dennoch ist es nicht ganz trivial, in grossen Hotels rund um die Uhr die richtige Menge an heissem Wasser bereitzustellen.

Wie ist es eigentlich möglich, dass in einem Hotel Hunderte von Gästen gleichzeitig duschen können und alle genug heisses Wasser haben? Die Antwort lautet Embedded Systems: Prozessoren, die in einen Apparat eingebettet sind, um diesen zu regeln und zu überwachen. Sie sind allgegenwärtig, ohne sie würde kaum mehr etwas funktionieren. Riesige Anlagen können heute mit kleinsten Embedded Devices kontrolliert werden. Immer mehr Anwendungen und Funktionen sind möglich.

Von der Forschung ...
Was Software von Ergon mit der warmen Dusche zu tun hat, ist eine längere Geschichte: Belimo, ein börsenkotiertes Technologieunternehmen mit weltweit rund 1 000 Mitarbeitenden, entwickelt, produziert und vertreibt seit 1975 elektrische Antriebe für Luftklappen und Armaturen für die Heizungs-, Lüftungs- und Klimatechnik. Auf diesem spezifischen Markt ist Belimo mit einem umfassenden Sortiment weltweit führend.

2006 evaluierte Ergon für Belimo in einer Machbarkeitsstudie verschiedene Embedded Devices, die in die Belimo-Antriebe integriert werden können. In der nachfolgenden Zusammenarbeit wurde mit Belimo sharedlogic eine Embedded Platform realisiert, die Funktionen für die Entwicklung von Regelungen für Komponenten der Gebäudetechnik zur Verfügung stellt. Die Basis ist ein Embedded Linux-System, das in einen Antrieb eingebaut ist und eine Laufzeitumgebung für die Ausführung von Regelungsprogrammen bietet – ergänzt um grafische Werkzeuge für die Entwicklung und die Inbetriebnahme sowie ein Web- Interface für die Bedienung im laufenden Betrieb.

... bis zur Produktreife
Im Herbst 2010 wurde Belimo sharedlogic für OEM-Kunden als moderne Technologie zur Erstellung von intelligenten und zukunftsweisenden Komponenten für die Gebäudetechnik im Markt eingeführt. Oventrop, ein deutscher Hersteller von Armaturen, Reglern und Systemen für die Haustechnik, hat auf der Basis von Belimo sharedlogic ein neues Warmwassererwärmungssystem für grosse Schüttleistungen entwickelt. Mehrere Wärmetauschersysteme werden kaskadiert und durch eine sharedlogic-Regelung angesteuert. So kommt immer genügend heisses Wasser aus der Dusche.

Alle Billette vorweisen bitte!

In der Rhätschen Bahn
Jessica freut sich auf die Bahnfahrt über den Albula. Wie praktisch, dass der Zugbegleiter ihr Ticket aus der ENGADINcard lesen kann, auf der auch das Bergbahnticket für eine Fahrt auf den Muottas Muragl und das Busbillett gespeichert ist.

Jeder, der mit dem Zug unterwegs ist, kennt sie. Die Rede ist von den roten Geräten mit dem grossen Display, die die Zugbegleiter stets bei sich haben. Mit dem mobilen Zugpersonalgerät mit der Software von Ergon ist der Zugbegleiter voll in die IT-Landschaft der SBB eingebunden. Er kann alle möglichen Informationen in Echtzeit abrufen. Dank direktem Zugriff auf die Kundendatenbank können beispielsweise vergessene Generalabonnemente sofort im Zug überprüft werden, ohne dass der Bahnkunde seinen Fahrausweis nachträglich umständlich am Schalter vorweisen muss – ein Service, den jeder zu schätzen weiss, der selbst schon in dieser Situation war. Die Kunden der Rhätischen Bahn können sogar verschiedene kontaktlose Chip-Cards wie die graubündenCARD und die ENGADINcard als Zahlungsmittel nutzen.

Der Zugbegleiter kann mit seinem mobilen Gerät auch jederzeit alle möglichen Billette verkaufen oder die neuen elektronischen Tickets auf den Mobiltelefonen in Sekundenbruchteilen kontrollieren. Aktuelle Fahrplanauskünfte? Sie stehen auf Knopfdruck zur Verfügung. Das Zugpersonalgerät trägt wesentlich dazu bei, das Leben der Passagiere und der Bahnangestellten zu erleichtern.

Referenz SBB

Rechnungen bequem und sicher von daheim aus bezahlen

Internet-Banking zu Hause
Internet-Banking ist aus Jessicas Alltag nicht mehr wegzudenken. Ihre Bank, die Liechtensteinische Landesbank, hat ihr das neuste Internet-Banking zur Verfügung gestellt. Von zentraler Bedeutung sind Sicherheit, Verfügbarkeit und Benutzerfreundlichkeit.

Ein immer grösserer Teil der Bevölkerung wickelt mittlerweile den Zahlungsverkehr elektronisch ab – bequem und zeitsparend. Von der Geschäftswelt gar nicht erst zu sprechen. E-Banking entspricht einem Bedürfnis, das auch von der LLB-Gruppe abgedeckt wird. Sie bietet ihren Privatkunden sowie professionellen Vermögensverwaltern umfassende Funktionalitäten an, die höchsten Ansprüchen gerecht werden: von Vermögensabfragen über Portfolioverwaltung und Zahlungsverkehr bis hin zu Börsengeschäften.

Neue Lösung für alle Kunden
Das traditionsreiche Bankenhaus hat kürzlich auf das Avaloq-Bankensystem umgestellt und dabei auch ein neues Onlinebanking-System für die Bank Linth (Linth-banking) und die LLB (LLB iBanking) eingeführt. Bei der LLB werden rund 60 Prozent der Bankzahlungen online durchgeführt. Auch werden Monat für Monat Tausende von Börsenaufträgen online aufgegeben, wobei der integrierte Marktdatenfeed wertvolle Entscheidungshilfen liefert. Ebenfalls rege genutzt wird die E-Post, mit der dem Kunden die eigenen Bankbelege elektronisch bereitgestellt werden.

Sicherheit und Komfort
Entwickelt wurde die benutzerfreundliche und lokal zu installierende Applikation von Ergon. Die Unabhängigkeit von Browsern sowie ein mehrstufiges Sicherheitskonzept sorgen dafür, dass Unberechtigte keinen Zugang zum System erlangen. Als Zugangsdaten dienen eine digitale Signatur (ein Zertifikat auf USB-Token), eine PIN sowie das persönliche Passwort.

Neben den hohen Sicherheitsstandards bietet die Applikation einen weiteren wichtigen Vorteil: Sie ist wesentlich bedienungsfreundlicher als eine Browserlösung. Speziell bei komplexen Funktionen profitieren die Kunden davon. Die neue Lösung ist zudem sehr übersichtlich gestaltet und bietet Funktionen, die die Flexibilität beim Onlinebanking erhöhen.

Referenz LLB

Das Auto auf dem neusten Stand

In der AMAG Garage
Wenn Jessica ihr Auto für den Service in die Garage bringt, dann schliesst der Mechaniker mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit das Auto zuerst an den Computer an und informiert sich bis ins kleinste Detail über den Zustand des Fahrzeugs.

AMAG hat Ergon als Partner mit der Pflege und Weiterentwicklung der garagennahen IT-Infrastruktur beauftragt. Diese Infrastruktur umfasst Softwarekomponenten in Java und .NET, die die 83 AMAG-eigenen Garagen und die rund 500 Markenpartner mit den Werkssystemen des Volkswagenkonzerns in Wolfsburg verbinden. Spezifische Themenkomplexe sind die Garantieabwicklung, die Softwareverteilung für Fahrzeuge, der elektronische Teilekatalog oder die Arbeitsanweisungen.

Ein Teil des Auftrags umfasst auch eine Hardwarekomponente namens Bluebox. Es handelt sich dabei um einen Industrie-PC mit spezifisch konfiguriertem Linux. Eine solche Bluebox steht in jeder Partnergarage und trennt das sichere Werkstattnetz vom Büronetz, das in Verantwortung der Partnergarage betrieben wird.

Bluebox für aktuelle Software im Auto
Die Bluebox verbindet die IT-Systeme der Garage mit denen der AMAG und des Volkswagenkonzerns. Wird ein Fahrzeug zum Service oder zur Reparatur gebracht, ermöglicht die Bluebox zusammen mit den oben beschriebenen Software- komponenten Abfragen über die Vergangenheit des Fahrzeugs bei VW in Wolfsburg. Datenblätter können heruntergeladen, der elektronische Teilekatalog kann eingesehen oder Reparaturanweisungen können bezogen werden. Zudem werden Garantieanträge über die Bluebox-Infrastruktur direkt mit dem Werk abgewickelt. Benötigte Ersatzteile können via Bluebox online beim AMAG-Ersatzteillager bestellt werden, die je nach Bestellzeitpunkt noch am selben Tag geliefert werden.

Immer Geld vom Bancomaten

Am Bancomat
Jessica braucht Bargeld: Karte einführen, Bargeld beziehen. Heute die reinste Selbstverständlichkeit – dahinter steckt jedoch viel Technologie. 50 Prozent des schweizweiten Bancomatenverkehrs laufen über Transaktionsserver von Ergon.

Nach der Theateraufführung noch schnell das Portemonnaie mit Bargeld für den Schlummertrunk in der Lieblingsbar bestücken – der nächste Bancomat befindet sich ja gleich um die Ecke. Praktisch, dass man als Raiffeisenkunde am Raiffeisen-Bancomaten dabei auch noch die letzten Transaktionen und alle Kontostände abfragen kann. Sämtliche Kartentransaktionen werden durch den Bancomat-Transaktionsserver autorisiert. Dies umfasst das Beziehen und Einzahlen von Geld an Raiffeisen-Automaten wie auch Bezüge an bankfremden Terminals.

Millionen von Transaktionen
Für die Raiffeisen Gruppe hat Ergon einen solchen Server realisiert. Mit diesem Transaktionsserver ist die drittgrösste Bank der Schweiz für den prognostizierten Anstieg der Transaktionenzahl gewappnet, denn Raiffeisen ist eine der grössten Verarbeiterinnen im Schweizer Zahlungsverkehr. Bis 2014 wird im Hinblick auf Banktransaktionen ein Wachstum von 50 Prozent erwartet.

Damit die Millionen von Zahlungsbewegungen reibungslos verarbeitet werden können, haben Ergon und Comit den bereits gemeinsam entwickelten Card-X-Transaktionsserver, der bei verschiedenen Banken im Einsatz ist, für die Bedürfnisse der Raiffeisen Gruppe weiterentwickelt – und das in rund 12 Monaten, obwohl in dieses Projekt alle 367 Raiffeisenbanken der Schweiz und mehrere Lieferanten direkt involviert waren. Die Ausbaufähigkeit und die Zuverlässigkeit hinsichtlich Ausfallsicherheit und Performance hatten dabei höchste Priorität.

Bargeld auf der Ferienreise
Auch wenn wir uns gerade auf einer Geschäfts- oder Ferienreise befinden und Bargeld beziehen möchten, kommen die gleichen Mechanismen zum Einsatz. Über den Bancomat-Transaktionsserver werden nämlich auch alle Transaktionen an Kassenterminals und Geldautomaten bei anderen Banken im In- und Ausland in Bezug auf den aktuellen Kontostand und die Limitensituation geprüft und autorisiert.

Und schliesslich unterstützt die Lösung auch die unterbruchsfreie Wartung des Transaktionsservers. So erfolgen Software-Updates ohne Systemunterbrüche. Das ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung, dass Menschen rund um den Globus zu jedem beliebigen Zeitpunkt Bargeld beziehen können.

Referenz Raiffeisen Gruppe

Unverzichtbare Begleiter im Freien

Wettervorhersage auf der Piste
Wie wird heute das Wetter auf der Piste? Soll Jessica die warme Jacke auch noch einpacken? Solche und viele weitere Fragen beantworten die iPhone-Applikationen iWeather.ch und meteo4me zuverlässig.

Apps auf dem iPhone sind eine praktische Sache und für Ergon ein spannendes Experimentierfeld. Laufend kann man sich über alles Mögliche informieren. Als Mobile-Pionierin war Ergon bei der Entwicklung von iPhone-Software von Anfang an dabei und hat schon früh Erfahrungen in der Realisation von Apps gesammelt.

iWeather.ch
Besonders häufig beschäftigt uns das Wetter. Für Ergon Grund genug, eine App zu entwickeln. iWeather.ch greift als erste Schweizer iPhone-Wetterapplikation direkt auf die Daten von MeteoSchweiz zu und zeigt für 70 Wetterstationen im ganzen Land das aktuelle Wetter, den herrschenden Luftdruck, den animierten Niederschlagsradar, Windprognosen und eine stundengenaue 6-Tages-Wetterprognose. iWeather.ch erfüllt die Wetterinformationsbedürfnisse des Alpinisten wie auch des Gleitschirmfliegers und zeigt den Geschäftsleuten, ob sie ohne Schirm trocken zum nächsten Termin kommen.

Das weltweite Wetter in der Westentasche
Manchmal interessiert auch das Wetter in einem anderen Land. Wie ist das Wetter an meiner Feriendestination? Haben die Freunde in Australien gerade besseres Wetter als wir? Zusammen mit den Wetterexperten von meteo-blue aus Basel hat Ergon deshalb eine iPhone-Applikation für das globale Wetter entwickelt: meteo4me liefert weltweit punktgenaue Wetterprognosen für die nächsten sechs Tage und stellt alle wichtigen Wetterparameter in Stundenintervallen dar.

Wie aus drei Rechnungen eine wird

Triple Play zu Hause
Telefonie, Internet und digitales Fernsehen aus einer Hand beziehen zu können, ist für Jessica eine bequeme Sache. Statt sich mühsam mit drei Rechnungen von ebenso vielen Anbietern herumzuschlagen, bezahlt sie nur noch eine.

Wenn wir zum Telefon greifen, am Abend daheim noch eine Weile durchs Internet surfen oder gemütlich einen spannenden Krimi am Fernseher schauen, sind das ganz unterschiedliche Dinge. Sie haben aber etwas gemeinsam: dann, wenn wir diese Dienstleistungen von einem einzigen Anbieter beziehen.

Dieses so genannte Triple Play, das gebündelte Angebot, bestehend aus Telefonie, Internet und Fernsehen, breitet sich in der Schweiz immer weiter aus. Auch die WWZ, ein regionaler Anbieter von Breitbanddienstleistungen, bieten ihren Kunden diesen Service an.

Das Angebot wird immer grösser
Um sämtliche Prozesse – von der Kundenanfrage über die Bereitstellung der gewünschten Services bis hin zur Rechnungsstellung und kontinuierlichen Überwachung der Servicequalität – effizient, reibungslos und kundenorientiert abwickeln zu können, setzen die WWZ für ihr breites Telekommunikationsangebot die von Ergon entwickelte Softwarelösung Taifun ein. Damit können die notwendigen Arbeitsschritte und Prozesse weitestgehend automatisiert erfolgen.

Referenz WWZ

Dem Glatteis keine Chance lassen

Schneepflug im Kanton Luzern
Eisglatte Fahrbahnen, rutschende Fahrzeuge – das Schreckensszenario für Jessica und viele andere Verkehrsteilnehmer. Winterglätte zu vermeiden und zu bekämpfen gehört zu den zentralen Aufgaben des Winterdienstes.

Als Verkehrsteilnehmer sind wir es in der Schweiz gewohnt, dass wir auch bei Schneefall sicher an unser Ziel kommen. Kaum fallen die ersten Flocken, prägen die Schneepflüge und Salzstreuer mit ihren orangefarbenen Warnlichtern das Strassenbild. Schon mitten in der Nacht machen sie sich an die Aufgabe, die Strassen zu säubern.

Um die Herausforderungen im Kampf gegen Schnee und Glätte noch besser zu meistern, haben das Strasseninspektorat des Kantons Luzern und das ASTRA durch Ergon und Kelag eine massgeschneiderte Softwarelösung entwickeln lassen. Sie unterstützt den Winterdienst bei seiner Aufgabe, für optimale Verkehrsverhältnisse auf den Kantons- und Nationalstrassen zu sorgen. Das neue System versetzt den Winterdienst in die Lage, Präventivmassnahmen in die Wege zu leiten, wenn die gesammelten Daten und die zu erwartende Wetterentwicklung darauf hinweisen, dass mit Schneefall zu rechnen ist. So kann es durchaus vorkommen, dass man auch bei trockenen Strassen einem Salzstreuer begegnet, obwohl es erst später zu schneien beginnt.

Viele Informationen ergeben ein Gesamtbild
Zuverlässige und aktuelle Informationen über das Wetter sind das A und O. Deshalb stehen dem Winterdienstverantwortlichen 60 Klima- und Wetterstationen mit diversen Messsonden zur Verfügung. Diese liefern permanent Daten über unterschiedliche Wetterparameter wie Luft- und Bodentemperatur, Feuchtigkeit, Gefriertemperatur, Niederschlag und Wind sowie über den Strassenzustand. Zusätzlich stellen MeteoSchweiz und andere Wetterdienste laufend spezifische Wetterprognosen bereit. So kommt eine Vielzahl von wertvollen Informationen zusammen.

Alle Funktionalitäten in einem System
Alle Daten werden in einer einheitlichen und übersichtlichen Benutzeroberfläche zusammengeführt. Das System vereint diverse Funktionalitäten: Wetterdaten in Echtzeit und Prognosen, die komplette Einsatzplanung, Aufgebot und Überwachung samt Integration der Kommunikation mit den Einsatzfahrzeugen auf den Strassen, Reporting und automatisierte Qualitätskontrolle.

Die Lösung hat sich diesen Winter bereits bestens bewährt. Auf dem ganzen Strassennetz gab es weniger Unfälle zu verzeichnen, da durch die guten Vorhersagen die Glatteisbildung gezielt bekämpft werden konnte.

Referenz Strasseninspektorat des Kantons Luzern und ASTRA